Let’s Do This: Delving into an NES RPG

crystalis_swordSo my collection of cartridges has grown and my NES has been used for at least an hour a day over the past two weeks… Up until now I’ve just been playing a few pick-up-games. A little bit of Snow Brothers, then some Magic Johnson’s Fast Break, then a bit of Chip & Dale: Rescue Rangers for good measure. It really has been fun, playing some great (and not so great) games from the past. However, there are only so many times you can play through the first three days of Paperboy before you need something to break up the continuity. With that, I decided it’s time to take up an NES RPG.

Now, regardless of what system you are playing, choosing a worthwhile RPG is a hard task. You never know what kind of storyline it will present, how long it will take you between save points, how much grinding you’ll need to do, etc. An RPG is a large investment of time and effort, and choosing the wrong one can make you feel like you “wasted all that time accomplishing nothing.”

Picking a game

Link will have to wait until another day...

Link will have to wait until another day...

So before I just picked up a cartridge and started playing it, I had to consider the pros and cons of each game. Rummaging through my cabinet, I narrowed down my options to three specific carts: The classic Legend of Zelda, Faxanadu, and Crystalis. Never playing any of the three, I figured my chances were pretty good that I would enjoy each of them when I decided to play them.

After thinking about it, I needed something with some more substance… which ruled The Legend of Zelda out immediately. I won’t knock it as a game – it has withstood the test of time and obviously has something to offer – I just felt like the lack of NPCs and towns was not what I was looking for. Between Faxanadu and Crystalis, I needed to decide which of the two I’d like to try and beat. Both seemed to have a lot to offer… only Crystalis gave me something I have been longing for: a game that wasn’t a side-scroller.

Chip & Dale: Rescue Rangers and Little Nemo: Dream Master had been practically glued into my NES since last week, so I had pretty much decided that side-scrolling adventure games were out of the picture for a little bit. Starting an RPG, I had no idea how much of another side-scroller I could handle, so Crystalis takes the cake.

With that said…

Crystalis seems to be my game of choice for the rest of the Christmas season and into the wonderful new year of 2009. I will periodically be posting my status into this cult-classic game and just generally sharing my thoughts and insights on what is really going on in the world of Crystalis. Hopefully the game won’t disappoint, but be sure, you’ll hear about it if it does!

– Justin

One Response to Let’s Do This: Delving into an NES RPG

  1. […] A little bit of Snow Brothers, then some Magic Johnson’s Fast Break, then a bit of Chip & Dale: Rescue Rangers for good measure. It really has been fun, playing some great (and not so great) games from the past. …[Continue Reading] […]

Leave a Reply

