Chrono Cross Arranged Album

“Mitsuda: For Chrono Cross, I have all the rights to the music, and it will be 10-year anniversary next year, so I’d like to do something. I’m thinking of a guitar-only album, but I’m just trying to find the time to do it…”


Without doubt a soundtrack that most video game music fans love, but the question is: where’s the arrange album? That quote was taken from Mitsuda two years ago when I was planning on releasing this article (which I sadly never got around to). It was taken from an interview in 2008. Now potentially Mitsuda was waiting for me to finish this article promoting it, in order for him to release it… but I’m going to have to guess that that’s not the case.

Now I’ll definitely keep from calling this vaporware or something of the like because we’re still within 5 years of it being announced, and Duke Nukem Forever got 10 before it became a standard joke. Also, Mitsuda released a track to fans in 2008.

Taken from the Chrono Compendium. \”A Narrow Space Between Dimensions\”

The track is solid, sounds great, and definitely sounds very finished. The instrumentation surprised me because I expected a largely guitar arrange album, but I wouldn’t say that the song sounded disappointing in any way.

Now of course, there has since been news on this project. Mitsuda said in an interview in 2009 that:

Yasunori Mitsuda I am hoping we can release this CD this year since it is the 10th year anniversary of Chrono Cross, but I am not sure it I can make it in time!

Don: So, hopefully later this year?

Yasunori Mitsuda: Yeah… Hopefully!

Now sadly that seems to be the last we’ve heard from Mitsuda about the album. Even though there has not been any news from Mitsuda since 2009 we still have this fact to go on, “I have been working on a Chrono Cross arrange album for years, and that was one of the songs from the album. The album is almost done”. So the only delaying factor at this point seems to be the official release process and promotion.

At this point I’m not sure if we should expect it out in 2010 considering that hasn’t been any crazy press for it and we’re almost halfway done with the year. The Square Enix site does not have any clues for us, but I’ll trust in the fact that the album’s about done, and who knows, maybe we’ll see the album out around Christmas.

~Dan

One Response to Chrono Cross Arranged Album

  1. arthurgolden says:

    Hi Dan,

    Thought I’d drop you a line about the VGM Canon on the Shrine: http://forums.ffshrine.org/showthread.php?t=54768. We’re back in business! Apologies for contacting you this way, but I didn’t know how else to reach you. Hope to see you around.

    AG

Leave a Reply

